Auth via External DB

I am using DF 2.0 in Amazon instance. I have RDS which has mysql DB. How can i store users, roles and all DB operations in my external DB…

HI there, I think that I am having the same issue as Mohammed.

I am new to DreamFactory and there is something I don’t quite understand.

I already have a users and user roles table in my external DB that I would like to use to authenticate users against - is this possible? Do I have to use linked keys? If someone could point us in the right direction that would be great.

Thanks in advance - and sorry if I am hijacking this thread instead of aiding it…

Any answers that can help me

Above where I said “linked keys” I meant lookup keys. I think the answer can be found using those - at least that is what an intro video seemed to suggest.

I think that you really need to let DreamFactory handle the users table and then you can have your user data in another column in your own DB. I am still figuring this out myself so I will keep you posted when I figure more out but I hope that can at least help a little bit.

If the original question is just using an external db for the system db, that is pretty simple.
In the root directory of your install there is a .env file. You will need to edit this file. By default the database section looks like this:

##------------------------------------------------------------------------------
## Database Settings
##------------------------------------------------------------------------------

DB_DRIVER=sqlite
DB_HOST=localhost
DB_DATABASE=dreamfactory
DB_USERNAME=df_admin
DB_PASSWORD=df_admin
DB_PORT=3306

Change the driver to mysql and fill out the rest of the information according to your specific database.

Then you will need to re-run the setup. You can do this from the command line. Navigate to the root of the install directory (where the .env file is).
Clear the cache:

$ php artisan cache:clear