How to manipulate data on the fly with server side scripts

Hi, I am new to Dreamfactory. I am trying to modify a field on all of the records of a REST call using get.post_process event script. I am struggling to get my head around it a little. I have manipulated some examples I have found online but my attempts don’t seem to be the correct method.

Here is an example of what I have tried.

if (event.request.body) {
_.each(event.request.body, function (record) {
    record.name = 'New Name Here';
});
} 

If anybody could give me any assistance or lead me in the right direction I would be very appreciative.

Thank you.

Try this

if (event.request.body.record) {
_.each(event.request.body.record, function (record) {
});
}

Also have a few examples on the wiki.

https://github.com/dreamfactorysoftware/dsp-core/wiki/Server-Side-Scripting

Thanks for the help. Unfortunately this still doesn’t seem to be working for me. Could it be a conflict with the fact my data is a mySQL database which I am accessing from another remote server? I can get custom scripts to work but not the event scripts. I don’t see any effect on the data from API docs nor test_rest.html.

I am using a custom script to access ‘eventmaster’ table and only display future items (no items who’s ‘startdate’ is 48 hours older than current date).

function getDate()
{
var dNow = new Date();
var theDate = (dNow.getTime()/1000);
return parseInt(theDate);
}
function initialise()
{
var queryString = getDate()+172800;
var filter_data = {"filter": "startdate>'" +queryString+ "'"};
var request = platform.api.get("buzzn/eventmaster",filter_data);
return request;
}
result = initialise();
return result;

Is there some way I can maybe do the manipulation as a part of this custom script instead?

When I create an error with a script it does affect my call so it seems the script is being called on the event yet when I use the below script the ‘name’ field’s data remains unchanged. What could be the reason for this?